Gradle Medal for Good Teaching
Dr. Eduardo Mayorga & Dr. Eduardo Viteri & Dr. Helena P. Filipe

A. Edward Maumenee Medal for Distinguished Services
Dr. Bruce Spivey & Dr. William De La Peña

Benjamin F. Boyd Humanitarian Award
Dr. Van Charles Lansingh

Paul Kayser / RRF Global Award
Dr. Jennifer J. Kang-Mieler

Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention
Dr. Mercedes Zambrano

Troutman-Véronneau Prize
Dr. Juan Carlos Serna Ojeda

We recognize your hard work

Six prizes will be awarded at this years Congress in Lima. Please join us in celebrating the contributions of these exceptional doctors.


The Gradle Medal for Good Teaching

2017 Recipients

Dr. Helena Filipe (Portugal)

Dr. Eduardo Mayorga (Argentina)

Dr. Eduardo Viteri (Ecuador)

All of the eLearning Committee

The Gradle Medal for Good Teaching was established in 1960 by Mrs. Audry Hayden Gradle in memory of Harry S. Gradle, MD, co-founder of the PAAO.  The Gradle Medal for Teaching acknowledges excellence in teaching and education in the field of ophthalmology.  This award recognizes an ophthalmologist who has demonstrated leadership in in the field of Ophthalmology and  who exemplifies excellence and promotes best practice in education.  The awardee promotes positive relationships between the training program and the community and has been an advocate in the field of Ophthalmology.

A. Edward Maumenee Award for Distinguished Services

2017 Recipients

William C. De La Peña MD (USA)

Bruce E. Spivey MD (USA)

Established in 1983, the Pan-American Medal for Distinguished Services Award is presented at Pan-American congresses to individuals who have provided exemplary service to the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology for continuing education for ophthalmologists, the prevention of blindness and the promotion of scientific and cultural exchange among ophthalmologists in the Western Hemisphere.  The name change took place in 1999 to honor A. Edward Maumenee, MD, for his extensive contribution to the Pan-American cause, making the award to be the A. Edward Maumenee Award for Distinguished Services.


The Benjamin F. Boyd Humanitarian Award

2017 Recipient

Dr. Van Charles Lansingh MD (Mexico)

The Benjamin F. Boyd Humanitarian Medal for Services to the Americas was established in 1987 to acknowledge individuals who have extended singular and significant service to the people of the Americas through ophthalmological service and blindness prevention activities, public services related to the advancement of ophthalmology or blindness prevention, or such other service activities.

Paul Kayser / RRF Global Award

Lecture will be Friday, 11 August. 9:30-10 am, Naciones 2

2017 Recipient

Jennifer J. Kang-Mieler, PhD, FARVO

Paul Kayser / RRF Global Award: A novel microsphere-hydrogel ocular drug delivery system for anti- vascular endothelial growth factors (anti-VEGFs)

 Established in 2012,the Paul Kayser/ RRF Global Award was conceived as a vehicle for the recognition of outstanding achievement in visual science with preference given in the specialized field of research on the retina and vitreous. The purpose of the award is to identify and recognize a vision science professional whose work has made a significant new contribution to knowledge about improving vision and prevention of blindness.

One award in the amount of $50,000 (US) will be given in conjunction with the biennial Pan-American Congresses. The first award was presented at the 30th Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The award is funded by the Retina Research Foundation.

Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention

2017 Recipient

Dr. Mercedes Zambrano Paco (Peru)

Established in 2011, the Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention recognizes an individual ophthalmologist with a record of excellence, innovation, and dedication in the field of blindness prevention. The Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention is granted once a year to a nominee that is a citizen and practicing ophthalmologist in the host country of the Pan-American Regional Course or Congress.

Troutman-Véronneau Prize

Lecture will be August 9, 3:0 PM -3:30 PM (SPS702), Sala Mateo Salado (4th floor)

2017 Recipient

Juan Carlos Serna Ojeda MD, MSc

Troutman-Véronneau Prize Winning Paper: Análisis de los resultados a corto plazo del trasplante alogénico de células troncales expandidas in vitro con fenotipo ABCB5+/p63+ en pacientes con deficiencia bilateral de células de limbo

The Troutman Véronneau Prize was established in 1993 to recognize the best work submitted by an ophthalmologist under the age of 45, alternating between cornea and strabismus. The 2017 prize will be given for the most original, previously unpublished paper on the subject of Cornea and/or Corneal Refractive Surgery. The winner receives a $10,000 prize and presents the winning paper at the PAAO congresses. The Troutman-Véronneau Prize has been established by Richard C. Troutman, MD, and Suzanne Véronneau, MD, of New York City.